Title image



The new piano recital by Maria Radutu 

PHOENIX is the transformation of the young, passionate and unrestrained soul, through outburst and loss, towards maturity and sovereignty – my answer to the question of how to create a musical rebirth.


About Phoenix


Phoenix starts with «one strong emotion per piece» music with romantic, folk inspired classical and world music works. The climax is reached in Liszt’s Mephisto Waltz where all the elements burn together, exploding into a thrilling dance.

Out of the ashes left behind, it creates the space for a modern fusion of styles, a new world of musical expression by Marco Annau’s «Crossing Lines», Gershwin as the first «crossover» composer in the history and Mikael Karlsson’s «Sovereign» melting old beauty in a contemporary musical surrounding. 




F.Chopin – Prelude Op.28 No.18.  ouverture
 E.Satie – Gnossienne No.1.  seeds of soul
B.Bartok – Allegro barbaro, Sz.49. power of fire
F.Say – Black Earth.  nature
M.Annau – Ninni.   lullaby
I.Strawinsky – Tango.   passion
H.Villa-Lobos – Alma Brasileira, Chôros No.5.   lost love
F.Liszt – Mephisto Waltz No.1.   phoenix
G.W.Gluck – Melody from „Orpheo ed Euridice“  acceptance
M.Annau – Crossing Lines (commissioned work).   rebirth
G.Gershwin – Three Preludes for Piano.   freedom
M.Karlsson – Sovereign (commissioned work).   finale




PHOENIX Images © Staudinger+Franke